Sixth Edition: “Our Oakland” — A Learning Journey

By: Janet Cerna, Senior [No Picture Available]

I did the “Our Oakland” Project three years ago, as a high school freshman. It was a really interesting project. The topic I research was alcoholism in Oakland. I choose that topic because a lot of people in Oakland face that problem. In our community, there are a high number of alcoholics who are minors. Therefore, I believe that it is a good thing that this school offers this project for us to get more informed about problems in our community. This project was kind of hard for some people because they did not want to go out into the community and interview people because they were embarrassed or maybe shy. I did not interview people because I was embarrassed and really nervous. If I were to do the project again, I would work harder to try to make a difference in my community. I would also make the experience more exciting by.

To find out more about this year’s “Our Oakland” project, I interviewed freshman Kathleen Fong.

Question #1:  What was your group’s topic? What interest you about that topic?

Answer #1:  My group topic was gangs. What interest me about that topic was that people had different perspectives on gangs.

Question #2:  How did you come up with the interview questions?

Answer #2:  We came out with the interview questions by working with our partner and we had this one chart where we had to put questions and we had to rate them.

Question #3:  How were your experiences interviewing people?

Answer #3:  My experiences interviewing people were good because I had never interviewed people before.

Question #4:  What was the most challenging part and why?

Answer #4:  The most challenging part was finding people to interview. That was challenging because I got rejected numerous of times.

Question #5:  What did you learn?

Answer #5:  What I learned is that people said gangs are not bad.

I feel that this year the Our Oakland project is really good because they are getting more help from teachers. Also, there are better topics to choose from because the topics are more interesting. I also feel like the students this year are more interested in the topics than in previous years.

Edited By: Eva Oliver, Digital Journalism Teacher

Leave a Reply

