Fasting For Peace- Day Eight

By: Juan Luna, Junior

Throughout the day I felt hungry. But, really for me this was a time to get connected with my inner self and be thankful for the things I have. It’s weird — I had the same feeling when I came back from a third world country, just being thankful for everything.

What’s funny is that once I came home from school my mother was stressing over dinner. When I reminded her that I was fasting the rest of the night, she rested. I asked my mother to fast with me, and she did. That to me is another example of being grateful — but not only for the things you have but also the people around you.

The community pledge that I was reflecting on the most was “I pledge to be mindful of my relationships and my actions both on and off campus.” To me, that means that I shouldn’t act one way in school and then another outside of school.

Through out the day I was really upset because I had a lot of people offering me food on purpose just to make fun of me. They were also telling me what I was doing was worthless and that fasting is not a way to build peace. They have a point, but how they expressed it to me was unnecessary. I’m not saying that what we are doing is worthless.

What i’m trying to say is that in theory it is like this: there are a lot of elements in the world that bring people together, but to me the top three are water, food, and music. Now take the food element and flip it to not eating, and for some reason it really brings more people together for a good cause. Everybody loves food, but not eating it to built peace is remarkable and powerful. Fasting has been done for this reason (among others) throughout history.  

Please comment on this post if you supported today’s faster or fasted in solidarity with our movement.

Visit us on:

Edited By: Yuvitza Rivera, Sophomore, and Eva Oliver, RAW Co-Coach          

Leave a Reply

