Fasting for Peace — Day Nine

By: Isabel Vizcarra, Senior

During my fast I felt good until like around 6 p.m because that’s when everyone in my house went to eat dinner. It was really hard for me because I love to eat before bed as well as have snacks throughout the afternoon. I felt bad because my stomach was hurting and it was really hard for me to sleep. I was drinking a lot of water so I had to use the bathroom every half hour, which I wasn’t used to especially during the night.

The worst part of my day was the morning because I couldn’t eat breakfast and I love to eat in the morning. I wasn’t irritated as much as I thought I would be because I hadn’t eaten anything; I was actually pretty calm.

The best part of my fast was when I ate the apple because it tasted so good. I never stopped to think how good an apple tasted; they just tasted like any other food. I appreciate everything I eat even the little things like a bowl of cereal.

My parents were really supportive of my cause. I explained to them what I was doing and why I was doing it. My mom was supportive because she didn’t make any of my favorite foods, so she was grateful for the first time that she didn’t cook for me.

Please comment on this post if you supported today’s faster or fasted in solidarity with our movement.

Visit us on:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Life-Academys-Season-of-Peace-Building/266295463437265

Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/raw_bam

 

Edited By: Yuvitza Rivera, Sophomore

Leave a Reply

