Fasting For Peace- Day Fifteen

By Jorge Ruiz, Freshman

Jorge Ruiz, Life Academy freshman and BAM member fasted on 1/30/12.

During my fast I felt calm and relax and tired. The best part for me was when I got use to the hunger, so it was more easy to handle. The worst was all the good food that was around me but I pulled through.

I chose “I pledge not to bring discrimination to my community”. I chose this pledge because at home I complain about my options while others in the world don’t get a chose. For example, some are force to work when they are children. Others don’t get to eat for months, so I should be grateful for what I have. Others asked me why was I fasting and I told them my purpose, so that I could inspire them to do the same. Some think that fasting is nothing, but if we work together as a whole we’re proving to them there is a larger meaning.

Edited by Yuvitza Rivera, Sophomore

Please comment on this post if you supported today’s faster or fasted in solidarity with our movement.

 Visit us on:

Leave a Reply

