Fasting for Peace — Day Eighteen

By: Linda Alecio, Senior

Linda Alecio, Life Academy senior and RAW member, fasted on 2/2/12.

During the first five hours of my fast, I didn’t feel hungry. One thing that happened during my fast was that this lady came up to me and asked me what was the band on my arm for, so I decided to explain her that it meant that I was on a 24 hour fast. And, she asked me why was I fasting, so I told her that I was fasting because I want to promote peace in my community and that I was sacrificing one day of my life to make a change. Even though I am knowledgeable that we can’t completely stop violence, I know we can make a change.

The hardest part of my fasting was around 8:00 p.m. because I started getting really hungry and my family was at my house cooking. Even though I was locked in my room, the smell still came through it anyway. It was hard for me to sleep because since I was hungry, and I was only drinking water. Therefore, I had to wake up many times throughout the night to go to the bathroom.

During the last four hours of my fast, I felt really proud because I was at a presenting and promoting our “Season of Peace-Building” at Skyline High School in Oakland, CA. Everything went really well because all the people that were there saw that I was fasting. Furthermore, some were really interested in participating with us in the fast, and others wanted to sign our “Peace Pledge.”

I actually did not asked anyone to fast with me because I felt that if I asked someone I would be forcing them to do it with me. However, there were two friends who offered to fast with me: Carmen Rivera (Life Academy junior) and Marisa Muniz (Life Academy senior). They both decided to fast with me in solidarity of our movement. I am really thankful that they supported me during the fast.

Edited By: Eva Oliver, RAW Co-Coach

Leave a Reply

