Fasting for Peace — Day Nineteen

By: Amer Hassan, Life Academy Alum

Amer Hassan, a BAM alum, fasted on 2/3/13.

“I pledge to be mindful of my relationships and actions both on and off campus”

When I was a kid, just before I had started preschool, I would go to work with my dad and open the store. Throughout the day people would tell my dad about all the fights and shootings that had happened the night before within the area. I was disgusted with all that I heard and asked “why all the violence?” my dad’s only reply was “because people are hungry” Back then I didn’t understand what he meant, but he explained that the lack of food causes people to go hungry and when you can’t feed that hunger people do anything to get food, even if that means to get violent.

Fasting wasn’t so hard since I grew up Muslim and fast for Ramadan, but it means a whole lot more doing it for peace. I look back to what my father said about people being violent because of hunger, but why not direct the anger and energy for something bigger than one self. After all, what’s more important than peace and equality?

After 24 hours, I am able to break my fast with my dad and younger siblings.  Nothing can make this meal more fancy, wholesome or fulfilling. I am happy to know that my younger brother and sister aren’t exposed to the kind of violence that I experienced here in Oakland because they live out in the farm country. I just wish everyone else in Oakland can experience that same peace.

Please comment on this post if you supported today’s faster or fasted in solidarity with our movement.

Visit us on:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Life-Academys-Season-of-Peace-Building/266295463437265

Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/raw_bam

Edited By: Yuvitza Rivera, Sophomore, and Eva Oliver, RAW Co-Coach

Leave a Reply

