Fasting for Peace — Day Twenty-Four

Daisy Vega (left), Life Academy senior and RAW member, fasted on 2/8/12. Her friend Blanca Burciaga (right), Life Academy senior and RAW member, supported Daisy by fasting too.

By: Daisy Vega, Senior

Through out my fast I reflected on the pledge which I made for myself. My pledge was “I pledge to keep the memories of my loved ones who have passed away due to gun violence forever in my heart”. I chose this pledge because of how much it hits home. Each time I thought of food or was tempted by others, I would repeat the pledge over and over in my head.  Repeating the pledge gave me the strength to move on with my day, it was nutritious for my soul. I didn’t need food just as those that lose a love one don’t eat when in grief. I would sacrifice many days without food if I  had to attend another funeral because of gun violence. I will do whatever it takes to demonstrate that I am fully committed to my schools “Season of Peace-Building” campaign, so that one day we can all live in a peaceful world.

Please comment on this post if you supported today’s faster or fasted in solidarity with our movement.

Visit us on:

Edited By: Eva Oliver, RAW Co-Coach

Leave a Reply

