Fasting for Peace – Day Twenty-Five

By: Edwin Roque, Sophomore

Edwin Roque (left), Life Academy sophomore and BAM member, fasted on 2/9/12.

During my fast, I felt hungry. This discomfort soon went away when I remembered all the people supporting me during my fast (including my mom and sister) and why I was fasting. The cause was my main motivator for finishing my fast, which was to raise awareness of the violence in Oakland and to show that youth want change and are willing to sacrifice food for peace.

The best part of my day was knowing that my 13 year old sister, who attends Urban Promise Academy (UPA), got around 20 pledge signatures and got four other people to fast along with her.

The “I statement” I chose to reflect upon was: “I pledge to find the beauty in and empathize with everyone.” During my fast and having this statement running in the back of my mind, I felt that I was more appreciative and paid more attention to the people around me. I would also notice small details that they would occasionally reveal to let me know they cared about me.

My participation in the fast relay demonstrated that I was determined to build peace because I helped to spread the awareness of the campaign by visiting my old middle school UPA and conversing with the principal to let him know what the Season of Peace-Building was all about.

Please comment on this post if you supported today’s faster or fasted in solidarity with our movement.

Visit us on:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Life-Academys-Season-of-Peace-Building/266295463437265

Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/raw_bam

Edited By: Eva Oliver, RAW Co-Coach

Leave a Reply

