Fasting for Peace – Day Twenty-Nine

By: Raul Salgado, Senior

Raul Salgado (center), Life Academy senior and BAM member, fasted on 2/13/12.

Throughout the Monday that I was fasting I felt really bad. I had multiple feelings going on at once. I was super hungry, had a headache, and I was frustrated.  It was really hard to stay away from food.

The best part of the day was when I was going to sleep because I felt proud of myself for actually finishing my 24-hour fast. Even though I felt sick and could not make it to school the next day, I tried to make the ceremony. Unfortunately, I missed it. Even though I felt sick, I did not break my fast.

I reflected on the “I-statement” that says, “I plan to defend other who can not defend themselves.” I chose to reflect on this fast because everyone deserves to feel safe both in school and outside of school. I have noticed a lot of people who can’t defend themselves or are afraid to defend themselves, and it’s not okay.

I participated in the “Season of Peace-Building” because I’m tired of hearing about homicides and dead children in Oakland due to gun violence. By participating in this movement, we’re showing the world that Oakland is not full of bad people. We’re standing up, and we’re showing that we are willing to take a stand and fast for peace.

Edited By: Eva Oliver, RAW Co-Coach

Leave a Reply

