Fasting for Peace – Day Thirty-Two

By An Tran, Senior

An Tran (left), Life Academy senior and RAW member, fasted on 2/16/12.

Daisy Vega (far left), Magdalena Mendoza, and Stephanie Revoreda supported An Tran by fasting with her.

My name is An Tran. I am a senior attending Life Academy and also a member of my school’s young women empowerment group, Real Ambitious Woman (RAW).  As a dedicated RAW member, I am helping to promote our “Season of Peace-Building.” I took the initiative to participate in the fast on February 16th, 2012 and pledged to find the beauty in and empathize with everyone. I also requested and encouraged my two best friends, Magdalena Mendoza and Daisy Vega, to fast with me; they eagerly agreed.

During the fasting process, I faced extremely hardship with my craving for food and criticism. Just like any other human being, I have special love and needs for food. Food is my best friend because its the essential source of energy that helps me cope with any of my worst or best situations. The day before I started my fast, I told myself, “Well, I can definitely skip eating for just one day. It’s easy and I can totally do it!” However, after one hour without food, I began to doubt my ability to ignore food. In addition, many people commented on my decision of fasting and said that it was just a waste of time. One of my good friends even said, “What’s the point of fasting? It’s not like you’re going to change anything.” Instead of further doubting myself, I searched for the reason why I wanted to fast in the first place: CHANGE.

For me, fasting is a form of demonstrating commitment to change certain issues. I was not eating to show that even though food is important, I still can sacrifice it to promote peace. When a person fasts, it catches everybody’s curiosity. So, everybody would start questioning why certain people are fasting, which is a great way to spread the word about different issues. In this case, we are trying to create peace within our own community, Oakland. Everybody is beautiful in their own way and instead of fighting each other over violence, we all should fight for peace. That is the simple and unique beauty.

I am now done with my fast, but I am not done trying to create peace. By facilitating and being apart of such a powerful event, I am helping to mend broken families and ameliorate Oakland’s reputation. I am proud to say that I am proactively attempting to help all members of the Oakland community.

Please comment on this post if you supported today’s faster or fasted in solidarity with our movement.

Visit us on:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Life-Academys-Season-of-Peace-Building/266295463437265

Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/raw_bam

Edited By: Yuvitza Rivera, Sophomore, and Eva Oliver, RAW Co-Coach

Leave a Reply

