Fasting for Peace – Day Forty

By Kevin Guardado, Sophomore

Kevin Guardado (right), Life Academy sophomore and BAM member, fasted on 2/24/12.

 

I felt really hungry and I couldn’t concentrate on what I was doing so I played games to take my mind off of it. The best part of my whole day was that I drank lots of refreshing water.

“I pledge to be mindful of my relationships and my actions both on and off campus.” I realized all my mistakes that I committed in school when I wasn’t in B.A.M, so I started to fix those mistakes by staying away from all my bad friends and being around my good friends. I demonstrated good actions by being mindful of my mistakes and fixing them to represent what a good  B.A.M member I am.

I got some pledges done but not all. I did not invite anyone to my fast but I did tell my mother that I was on a fast so she could remember I wasn’t going to eat until Saturday at 1:00 p.m.

______________________________________________________________________

By Samira Yeganegi, Skyline Student

Fasting was a pretty interesting experience. I felt more tired than usual. Consequently, I wasn’t in the best of moods at all times. You’re not really aware of being hungry after a while, but sometimes I would find myself planning what I was going to eat later (I do this a lot because if I don’t know what I’m going to eat I basically can keep eating forever), and then I would remember that I couldn’t and would feel silly.

I think it did good for my patience and also made me really appreciate how tasty water is! People were pretty nice about it in general. Nobody fasted with me, but I did get some people to be interested in potentially doing it in the future. I got a few people who were thinking about doing it and I basically told them it was pretty alright and encouraged them to try it.

 

Please comment on this post if you supported today’s faster or fasted in solidarity with our movement.

Visit us on:

Edited By: Yuvitza Rivera, Sophomore

Leave a Reply

