Fasting for Peace – Day Forty-One

By Emily Rigotti, Life Academy Teacher

Emily Rigotti (center), Life Academy science teacher, fasted on 2/25/12.

To be honest, I was a little worried about my own will-power to be able to fast for an entire 24 hour period (as a lover of food, I knew it was going to be very challenging for me).  I definitely approached it head-on.

The first 5 hours of the fast I didn’t really feel the effects. However, after hour 5, I really struggled to stay true to the fast. What really kept me going was knowing that I was part of a larger vision of people that had followed through with this amazing feat.  Additionally, I reached out for support from close family and friends to spread the word about the significance of the Season of Peace.

This really got me to reflect on our own Oakland community, especially with the 18 shootings that happened all in the last week.  Supporting each other in as many positive ways as possible is one of the most important methods of battling the injustice that plagues our neighborhoods.  

Thank you for allowing me to participate in this extremely meaningful movement!

Please comment on this post if you supported today’s faster or fasted in solidarity with our movement.

Visit us on:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Life-Academys-Season-of-Peace-Building/266295463437265

Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/raw_bam

Edited By: Yuvitza Rivera, Sophomore

Leave a Reply

