Fasting for Peace – Day Fifty-One

By Daniela Martinez, Senior

Daniela Martinez (right), RAW member who fasted on 3/6/12, with Carlos Diaz-Cobian (left), BAM member who fasted on 3/5/12.

Throughout my fast I felt very clam. I don’t think it was the hunger that was bothering me, but I just felt very light headed when walking to school in the morning. I expected myself to feel very hungry because others on their fast made it seem like it was the end of the world, when really it was peaceful.

The best part of the day was getting positive support from my mother. I felt like my mother would have been negative about it because it’s unhealthy, but she knew I was doing it for a good cause.

I’ve heard a lot of my friends say, “Why don’t you just feel lucky for what you have, instead of starving yourself?” I do feel thankful for all that has been given to me in my life but with this it was interesting to feel some sort of pain, after all there is others out here in Oakland that have felt much more extreme pain knowing that their loved ones are no longer around.

Please comment on this post if you supported today’s faster or fasted in solidarity with our movement.

Visit us on:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Life-Academys-Season-of-Peace-Building/266295463437265

Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/raw_bam

Edited By: Yuvitza Rivera, Sophomore

Leave a Reply

