Fasting for Peace – Day Fifty-Two

By: Gilberto Hernandez, Sophomore

Gilberto Hernandez (second from the left) and Jai Martinez (second from the right) fasted on 3/7/12.

Fasting for me was not easy because I never have fasted before. When I first started my fast, the first four hours were easy, but when I got home my mother, father, brother were making fun of me. That was challenging, but I didn’t break my fast because I promised to not break it. Also, I knew that there were people supporting me, and I didn’t want to let my BAM members down.

The best part of my fast was being at my room the whole entire day in my bed. Also, I enjoyed skating at my school because also I knew that my skateboarding team was supporting me. The worst part of my day was when I got home. I was tired and hungry, and everybody was eating in front of me.

During my fast I choose to reflect on the statement “I pledge to defend others than can not defend their self.” My participation in the Season of Peace-Building demonstrates that I really want to make a difference on Oakland and my community. Yes, I did get a lot of people to sign my pledge. I even invited some of my friends to fast with me. One of them was Jai Martinez, and the other was Alexandra Guardado. I felt that they really were supporting me, and they really care about making a difference in our community too.

Please comment on this post if you supported today’s faster or fasted in solidarity with our movement.

Visit us on:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Life-Academys-Season-of-Peace-Building/266295463437265

Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/raw_bam

Edited By: Eva Oliver, RAW Co-Coach

Leave a Reply

