Fasting for Peace – Day Fifty-Seven

By: Davy Loch, Senior

Davy Loch (right), Life Academy senior and RAW member, fasted on 3/12/12.

During my 24-hour fast, I chose to reflect on the pledge to not physically and mentally abuse my partner in teen and dating violence. At first, I was not hungry at all because I ate before I fasted. Throughout the day I grew more and more hungry, than I began to think about the people who go without food for days, even weeks. I started to realize how important food is and how it is so relevant to brain function. Not being able to eat really effected my ability to think throughout the day and the next day. Honestly, I was miserable.

The next day I woke up hungry like I was never before. I didn’t want to break my fast, so I fought it. I began to realize how food should never be taken for granted and that some are more fortunate than others. There are people around the world who don’t even have food to eat everyday or go to bed on an empty stomach. Wasting food when others barely have any is shameful, you eat to live not live to eat.  Also, being able to participate in this event really shows my commitment, and I learned what I was capable of.

Please comment on this post if you supported today’s faster or fasted in solidarity with our movement.

Visit us on:

Leave a Reply

