Fasting for Peace – Day Sixty-Five

By: Ashley Hunter, Sophomore

Ashley Hunter (center), Life Academy sophomore and RAW member, fasted on 3/20/12.

Ashley Hunter sharing her reflection.

During my fast I reflected on the I Statement to not trash my environment. When I was fasting this came to my mind numerous times. I would think to myself that when I throw things on the ground I am littering and making the future dirty and polluted for generations to come. I came up with a resolution that if I throw my trash in the trash bin at home then out in the street I can do the same and not be lazy.

Some positive things were the support of my friends and granny. In fact, my granny fasted with me. Right when I walked through the door to my house, my granny said, “Princess, can I eat?” I started laughing and said, “But granny, I’m not eating until tomorrow.” And, she said, “Oh, okay then.” My granny kept me motivated throughout the whole fast because we were fasting together.

The negative thing was getting really hungry around 8:00 p.m. My stomach started growling, and I was thinking, “I don’t want to go to sleep yet.” So, I tried to do things around the house to keep my mind off of things. Other than that, everything about me fast was okay and good!

Please comment on this post if you supported today’s faster or fasted in solidarity with our movement.

Visit us on:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Life-Academys-Season-of-Peace-Building/266295463437265

Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/raw_bam

Edited By: Yuvitza Rivera, Sophomore

Leave a Reply

