Fasting for Peace – Day Sixty-Eight

By Phuong Le, Junior

The first two ladies on the right, who are wearing their new RAW shirts, fasted on 3/23/12.
Phuong Le, Life Academy junior and RAW member, and Linda Alecio, Life Academy senior and RAW member, fasted together in honor of Women's History Month.

I had fasted before and thought that it was pretty easy, so I thought that it wouldn’t be as hard this time. I was wrong. There were a lot of events that I went to that day: Women History Month town hall, cross-site E-Team meeting and a workshop the following day. I was running around helping others and that took all my energy. I had headache and felt nauseous. The funny thing was that I knew that helping others made me weaker, but I couldn’t stop and say “no.” Daryna and Andrea fasted with me, which motivated me to keep on going.

My I-statement was “I pledged to raise awareness about sexual assault and rape and give voice to the victims of these crimes.” We should give a voice to all these victims and encourage them to do the same. Everyone needs to step up against all kind of violence and show the victims that they’re not alone.

I participated in the fast relay because I know that it is a step to help build peace in the community. I know that it can not stop the violence, but it can help raise awareness to it. It shows that a school community actually cares and that we are willing to sacrifice something in order to make a difference. One step forward is better than not taking a step at all. It has to start somewhere and Life Academy is where it started.

Please comment on this post if you supported today’s faster or fasted in solidarity with our movement.

Visit us on:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Life-Academys-Season-of-Peace-Building/266295463437265

Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/raw_bam

Edited by Yuvitza Rivera, Sophomore

Leave a Reply

