Fasting for Peace – Day Seventy-Two

By: Kim Young, Life Academy Teacher

Kim Young (center), Life Academy teacher, fasted with students Julio Nunez (left) and Ruby Burciaga (right) on 3/27/12.

I felt really good the whole afternoon and evening that I was fasting.  I tried to be smart about fasting and did not stuff myself with food before I began, but I was really unprepared for how I woke up feeling.

This morning I was dizzy, felt sick and was exhausted.  I thought about breaking my fast early because I was afraid I would not be able to teach feeling like this, but I decided to drink a HUGE glass of water and leave my house.  That was the right move because I am making it though the morning feeling great.

I reflected on the statement that says, “I pledge to defend others that cannot defend themselves.”  I connected to this statement because I often feel like the work that I do does not have real impact.  I was sad to hear about my students recently attending a fight and was concerned that all my hours of personal sacrifice were in vain.  But, reflecting on this statement helped me put things in perspective and helped me remember that I am a powerful person in this world as long as I put my efforts in the right place.  I love the idea of defending those who need it because it is applicable to many different situations.  That statement makes me feel powerful!

Edited By: Eva Oliver, RAW Co-Coach

Leave a Reply

