Life Academy Perspectives: Overcoming Addiction

By Lily Corona, Sophomore

To listen to the audio: Decisions

Decisions

Teenagers my age fall into things they say they will never do but end up doing it anyway.

When I was in the eighth grade, I became convinced by the persuasive words my friends said about ecstasy, marijuana and alcohol. I would hear them say things like “it’s a way to relieve stress” “it’s amazing”  “it zones you out when you want to get away”

After taking them up on their offers, I fell hard into the numbness of emotions, as if I were in a world where crying, fear and sadness didn’t exist.

Using drugs wiped my tears at my worst, but this feeling only ever lasted an hour or two at which point I had to return to reality.

Yet I still kept doing it.

I became convinced that what I was doing was no big deal, and that it would be easy to quit. But instead, I was becoming more and more addicted. Drugs for me became as necessary as water is for a fish to survive.

Because of drugs I stopped hanging out with the people I once called friends. My new friends were those that descended into the numbness with me.

So while I couldn’t see the wrong decisions I was making, I began recognizing the signs of addiction in my friends.

Their actions reminded me of my uncle, who wasted his life with drugs as if he had more than one life to live. He was loosing his family, lost and isolated in his own world of drug use.

Every pill, blunt, or shot he consumed was his life being flushed down the toilet. When he would get home at night, stinking from alcohol and unsteady on his feet, he was the one that started the arguments that made my little cousin hide in the closet and cry.

It was recognizing my uncle’s behavior in my friend’s actions that finally opened my eyes. I told myself I didn’t want to end up growing older and hurting my kids like he hurt his.

I realized that drugs didn’t solve my problems; they only made them worse. Drugs made me believe that there was actually a shortcut to escape my problems.

Now I have to confront these emotions and deal with them. Sometimes it can be hard, but it’s worth it, because I know I won’t be hurting anyone physically or emotionally because of my addiction.

I have learned that with every hardship in life, at the end there will always be something worth the pain.

With a perspective, I’m Lily Corona.

Edited by Yuvitza Rivera, Sophomore

Leave a Reply

