Fasting for Peace – Day Nineteen

By Daryna Loch, Senior

During the fasting relay, the best part of the day was being able to reflect on what I have done to build peace. The worst part of the day was not being able to eat, and which impacted my day to day life.

Fasting was symbolic to me because it made me realize that some people can not live a normal day to day life because they are traumatized as a victim of violence or because someone they know and love has been a victim to violence. It again, made me realize that we can not just be a bystander to the violence within our community.

The “I statement” that I chose to reflect on was: “ I pledge to find the beauty within and empathize with others.” I chose this statement, because I think that it is important to be considerate of others. Everyone has the ability to inspire, motivate, and give one another a helping hand. I live by this statement as I continued to be in RAW my senior year. Through RAW I am able to empower other young women to find their beauty within.

I invited a few of my friends, Alexandra and Phuong to fast in solidarity with me. During the fast I felt very supported, and I was supportive of them. A big part of getting through my fast was that we were able to stay positive and motivate each other.The Season of Peace Building is important to  me because we continue to see violence within our community. However, through the Season of Peace Building, we are able to create unity, and create peace through non-violent acts of protest. The Season of Peace Building creates an environment where it allows anybody to have a voice and feel safe.

Please comment on this post if you supported today’s faster or fasted in solidarity with our movement.

Visit us on:
On Face Book: http://www.facebook.com/seasonof.peacebuilding
On Twitter: @RAW_BAM
On Instagram: Life_Academy

Leave a Reply

