Fasting for Peace – Day Thirty-One

By Lindsay San Martin, Life Academy Teacher

This is not the first time I have fasted. I have fasted twice before, both for the purposes of starting a new diet. I find it ironic that while I was fasting for peace, I chose to focus on not having negative thoughts about myself when the times I have fasted previously, were because of negative thoughts. As a woman, I am constantly surrounded by images and ads of what it is like to be a “healthy” woman. When I fasted for peace, I wanted to start to combat these images with self-acceptance. I am 28 years old and battling to build inner peace within myself. I cannot imagine what it is like to be a teenager and constantly be surrounded by social media and advertisements that make you question who you are and how you need to change. It makes me think about how difficult it must be for youth to try and build peace in their community when they are struggling with their identity.

I hope that our community can help young women and men feel safe enough to be themselves and love who they are. That is the first step to building peace.

Please comment on this post if you supported today’s faster or fasted in solidarity with our movement.

Visit us on:
On Face Book: http://www.facebook.com/seasonof.peacebuilding
On Twitter: @RAW_BAM
On Instagram: Life_Academy

Leave a Reply

